Friday, October 7, 2011

Three women share Nobel Peace Prize

Sirleaf, Karman and Gbowee
Two Liberians and a Yemeni have been awarded this year's Nobel Peace Prize. The Norwegian Nobel Committee honoured the three women "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights."
The honour which comes with a 10 million kronor ($1.5 million) prize, was awarded to Africa’s first democratically elected female president, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberian, 72, peace activist Leymah Gbowee and Yemeni democracy campaigner Tawakkul Karman. Karman is the first Arab woman to win the prize.

No comments:

Post a Comment